Our Speakers


Prof. Prem Vrat

Chairman, Board of Governors, IIT (ISM) Dhanbad

Prof. Prem Vrat is Pro-Chancellor; Professor of Eminence and Chief Mentor at The NorthCap University, Gurugram.

He is a product of IIT system throughout with B.Tech (Hons) and M.Tech from IIT Kharagpur and PhD from IIT Delhi. He has been teaching, guiding research and offering consulting for more than 55 years and had a brilliant academic record. He was officiating Director at IIT Delhi; Founding Director at IIT Roorkee; Vice Chancellor of UP Technical University, Lucknow and ITM University, Gurugram as well as Professor and Division Chairman, Asian Institute of Technology Bangkok. He has visited 22 countries and was Distinguished Adjunct Professor at AIT Bangkok; AICTE-Distinguished Chair Professor and is Honorary Professor at IIT Delhi. He is Chairman, BOG of IIT (ISM) Dhanbad and former Chairman of IIT Mandi. He is a fellow of INAE; NASI, IIIE; WAPS and ISTE. He has guided 50 PhD Theses; 118 M.Tech dissertations and 65 B.Tech major projects and published more than 515 research papers in reputed journals and conference proceedings receiving a total citation count of more than 10364 with a single paper receiving more than 2062 citations and a g-index of 99 in google scholar. He has authored/co-authored 07 books, led 05 sponsored projects and 36 major consultancies. Professor Prem Vrat has received large number of honours and awards. Some prominent awards include 15 best paper medal/prizes; Doctor of Engineering (Honoris Causa) for Bundelkhand University, Distinguished Alumnus Award for by IIT Kharagpur; Outstanding Contribution Award for National Development by IIT Delhi; Lillian Gilbreth Award of IIIE; Uttaranchal Ratan Award; National Systems Gold Medal of SSI; Honorary Member IIIE; and Life Time Achievement Award from IIIE; SOM, SSI-DEI, IMT and NCU. IIT Kharagpur conferred on him a very prestigious ‘Life fellow award-2023’ given by Hon’ble President of India on 18th Dec 2023. He was chairman (NWRC) of AICTE; member EC of YMCA University, CUH, Member JNU court; Independent Director on Board of Air India and Chaired many important policy committees in the government and AICTE.